The club was originally formed after many discussions between four friends Chris Jackson, Richard Vlazlovski, Bill Grzeskowiak and Bill Novak.

The idea of the club was to provide a place where people who loved American cars could share their passion. The idea was to create an unbiased and friendly environment that included all models of American vehicles and not be exclusive.

The first two planning meetings were held in late 1988 at Chris Jackson’s workshop, Aurora Avenue, Queanbeyan NSW. The next informal meeting was held on 11th February 1989 at the Tradesmen’s Club in Dickson (Canberra) where the first official meeting was planned.

The first official meeting of the club was advertised in the Canberra Times as well as word of mouth of course, and was held at the Ainslie Football Club. (It was thought to have been the first Monday of March 1989) where the Car Club remained for a number of years.

The American Car Club was officially incorporated on 18th July 1990, it’s name was registered as “The American Car Club of Australia Incorporated”.

Office holders for the first year were:

  • President: Richard Vlazlovski
  • Vice President: Glen Hunter
  • Treasurer: Chris Jackson
  • Secretary: Bill Novak
  • Promotions Manager: Sophie Novak
  • Editor: Sean McGrath
  • Events Organiser: Sasha Brown

The first event of the club, was a Bar-B-Q run to the Cotter, initially leaving from the American Eagle, Russell, the meeting place for club runs for several years. The first car show/event attended, as a club, was John Whelan’s 1989 Canberra Hot-Rod and Custom Car Show, where the Club proudly displayed their banner for the first time, and one of our members came home with a trophy. The banner was designed by Michelle Buckingham.

On 22 December 1994 our Club President, Kent Wright tragically passed away. Kent was an energetic and dedicated President. This tragedy struck the Club hard. In his memory we have the Kent Wright Memorial Trophy, awarded to the most dedicated member of the club each year.

Consequent meetings were held at the Yowani Golf Club, moving to the Downer Club in about 1992, followed by  Olims Hotel , Ainslie. Our current venue is the Canberra Football Club, Grose St Deakin.

Meetings have always been held at 7:30 pm on the 1st Monday of the month, except public holidays when the meeting is deferred to the second Monday of the month. All are welcome to attend this open meeting for members and non-members.